Communiqué

STANDING COMMITTEE OF OFFICIALS (SCO)

Secretariat: c/o Electrical Safety Office Queensland GPO Box 69, Brisbane QLD 4001 eess.secretariat@qld.gov.au

26 May 2020

Standing Committee of Officials (SCO)

This communiqué highlights the key outcomes of the SCO meeting held on 26 May 2020.

Outcomes of SCO meeting

The SCO noted that the Online Sales Working Group met on several occasions to discuss the broader implications of the Electrical Equipment Safety System (EESS). The SCO noted the strategy proposed by the WG for the compliance of electrical equipment sold online. The strategy is to entail data collection, co-ordinated auditing of online marketplace sellers and consumer education to assist with the consumers awareness.

The SCO noted the update and revised timelines on the draft Business Requirements Document (BRD) for the EESS IT Platform and the incorporation of stakeholder feedback in the document. When finalized the BRD will enable SCO to tender for development of the new IT platform.

The SCO considered draft funding items for the Annual Distribution Proposal for the financial year of 2020-2021 which will include check testing and communication strategies. The proposal will be approved out of session by the end of June 2020.

The SCO continues to hold further discussions with New Zealand and New South Wales to work towards participation by those jurisdictions in the EESS. All jurisdictions are continuing to work towards harmonising electrical equipment safety regulatory systems throughout Australia and New Zealand.

A communiqué will be released following each SCO meeting and will be published on the EESS website. The SCO can be contacted though the SCO Secretariat at EESS.Secretariat@oir.qld.gov.au.

Attendees / Apologies

Attendees	Apologies
 Donna Heelan, Queensland (SCO Chair) Brian Richardson (SCO Secretariat) Ian Burgwin, Victoria Adam Murdoch, Victoria Rob Faunt, South Australia Ron Keelty, New South Wales Chris Wicks, Northern Territory Mark Wogan, New Zealand Peter Morfee, New Zealand Nabil Yazdani, New Zealand Henry Hodgson, Northern Territory 	 Saj Abdoolakhan, Western Australia Michael Mosslar, Australian Capital Territory Andrew Goldsworthy, Tasmania

Next meeting

The next meeting will be held on 28 July 2020 via videoconference.

