Participating Jurisdictions

By 2019 an Inter-Governmental Agreement (IGA) on governance of the Electrical Equipment Safety System (EESS) has been signed by Queensland, Victoria, Western Australia and Tasmania. Other jurisdictions are currently progressing or considering implementation of the EESS.

The EESS moved from oversight by the Electrical Regulatory Authorities Council (ERAC) to being governed by a Ministerial Oversight Committee (MOC) who appoint a representative on the Standing Committee of Officials (SCO).

Current signatories to the IGA are:

  • Queensland Government
  • Western Australian Government
  • Victorian Government
  • Tasmanian Government

The IGA can be found here.

Members of the Electrical Regulatory Authorities Council (ERAC) can be found here.

Participating jurisdiction contacts

Below current signatories to the Intergovernmental Agreement:

Western Australia (WA)
Energy Safety WA
303 Sevenoaks Street,
Cannington, WA 6107
PO Box 135, Cannington, WA 6987
(08) 9422 5200 (08) 9422 5244

Queensland (QLD)
Electrical Safety Office, Office of Industrial Relations
Building 1, Level 2, 153 Campbell Street
Bowen Hills, QLD 4006
PO Box 820, Lutwyche Qld 4030
(07) 3738 5098

Victoria (VIC)
Energy Safe Victoria
Level 5, Building 2, 4 Riverside Quay
Southbank, VIC 3006
PO Box 262, Collins Street West, Melbourne, VIC 8007
(03) 9203 9700 (03) 9686 2197

Tasmania (TAS)
Consumer, Building and Occupational Services
Department of Justice
Level 4, 1 Civic Square Launceston, TAS 7250
1300 654 499